Email not displaying correctly? View in a Web Browser

MCRN Newsletter

October 26, 2015 - Issue 1

In this issue...
  • MCRN Colloquium Webinar begins in November
  • Focus Groups Schedules
  • Many Job Postings added
  • New MCRN Hub Newsfeed
  • The MCRN Annual Report has been approved.
  • Opt in for MCRN Newsletter at mathclimate.org
MCRN Colloquium Webinar begins in November The purpose of these colloquium talks is for all MCRN members (both current and potential) to become more familiar with each other's current research. The weekly webinar times will alternate between Monday mornings and Thursday evenings in Eastern Standard Time (EST) to allow for more participation around the world (all US time zones, Europe, India, Australiasia).
We will use WebEx for the webinar, and links will be sent in future newsletters.

Monday, November 9th, 10:30am EST: Chris Jones (University of North Carolina- Chapel Hill)

Title: Where’s the Math in Climate Science?
Abstract: Climate science is dominated by the use of large-scale models, of which there are only 30 or so around the world. It might then seem that the need for mathematics is limited to areas that directly support the operation of such models. I will explain, by digging into the way the models work, this is not correct and that climate studies demand the development of various emerging as well as established areas of mathematics. Along the way, I will explain how models are used and what some of the big open issues are to further our understanding of how the climate works. The talk will include discussion of a case study of El Niño based on joint work with Andrew Roberts, Esther Widiasih, Axel Timmerman and John Guckenheimer.
Note: This will be a general and motivational talk that should be accessible, and I hope of interest, to pure and applied mathematicians at all levels from undergrad on up.

(This talk begins at 15:30 GMT = 5:30 HAST = 7:30 PDT = 8:30 MDT = 9:30 CDT = 16:30 CET = 21:00 IST, and on Tuesday, the 10th at 00:30 JST = 2:00 ACDT = 2:30 AEDT = 4:30 NZDT)

Thursday, November 20th, 7:00pm EST: Luke Bennetts (University of Adelaide)

Title: TBA

(This talk begins on Thursday at 14:00 HAST = 16:00 PST = 17:00 MST = 18:00 CST, Midnight 00:00 GMT between Thursday and Friday, and Friday at 1:00 CET = 5:30 IST = 9:00 JST = 10:30 ACDT = 11:00 AEDT = 13:00 NZDT)

Monday, November 23rd, 10:30am EST: Erik Van Vleck (University of Kansas)

Thursday, December 3rd, 7:00pm EST: Rachel Kuske (University of British Columbia)


* Please email mromeo@renci.org if you would like to give a talk in the colloquium.



Focus Groups Schedules The following Research Focus Groups (RFG) are actively meeting.

Climate Seminar- Tuesdays 12:15pm ET
NBRIT Research Meeting- Tuesdays 2pm ET
JDAS- Every other Wednesday at 10am ET
PaleoSeminar- Wednesdays 1:30pm ET
Nonsmooth Reading Group- Every other Thursday at noon ET
Fast/Slow Webinar- Every other Thursday at 1pm ET
Konza Project- Every other Friday at 9am ET
Biogeochemistry & Carbon Cycle- Has poll out to choose day and time

If you would like to include the your RFG speaker calendar in the newsletter, please send all relevant information to hubmins@mathclimate.org.



hubmins@mathclimate.org Use hubmins@mathclimate.org to submit information for distribution to all MCRN members.

Many job postings addedRecent posts include tenure-track jobs at Rice, Massachusetts and Edinburgh, and postdocs at UBC, Exeter, 3 national labs, and field work in Baja, California.

Please submit more opportunities here.

See JOBS


New MCRN Hub Newsfeed The news is organized by categories:

Member News highlights the accomplishments of individual members. See recent articles about Mary Silber, Alex Mahalov and Margaret Lindeman.

Solicitations describe opportunities for MCRN members and the larger math climate community. Currently includes internship at Target and IUGG call for participation.

Partner News includes the activities of our partner organizations, such as Kaitlin Hill's article on the Conference on the Mathematics of Sea Ice at PIMS.

Network News focuses on MCRN in the news. Watch MCRN's video for ICIAM TV 2015.

FYI serves to include other news articles of interest.

* Please send your news and announcements to hubmins@mathclimate.org.

See NEWS


Annual Report is approvedThank you to all members for their many, valuable contributions!

Opt in to receive newsletter This newsletter replaces the out-dated members@mathclimate.org listserv. To receive these newsletters, create an account at mathclimate.org, and when setting your profile choose "Yes" to receive these newsletters via email. To unsubscribe, choose "No."

Copyright © 2015 MCRN. All Rights reserved.