MCRN membership grew in 2013

As 2013 comes to a close, let's take a look at how our membership has grown during the past year. We started the year with 77 members- added 44 during 2013- and now end the year with 121 members. The graph below tracks the increase.

MCRN membership growth in 2013

In addition to more members, MCRN has experienced an increase in affiliated institutions. There are new members from institutions as diverse as the University of Georgia's Department of Marine Sciences, Normandale Community College, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, and Ohio Wesleyan University, to name a few. As our international ties strengthen, more members have joined with affiliations abroad. These include Imperial College London, University of British Columbia, and University of Twente. The collaborations with University of Exeter's Climate Change and Sustainable Futures program, International Centre for Theoretical Sciences (ICTS) and Center for Applicable Mathematics (CAM) of the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), the Lorentz Center, Centre for the Analysis of Time Series (CATS) at London School of Economics, and University of New South Wales' Climate Change Research Centre (CCRC) were formalized in September through the NSF's Science Across Virtual Institutes (SAVI) grant under the title "Mathematical Sciences for Climate and Sustainability." These partnerships were strengthened in 2013 and set to continue to flourish into 2014.

MCRN's increase in affiliated institutions also resulted from established members progressing in their careers. Node-leader Esther Widiasih has moved to a faculty position at the University of Hawaii at Manoa; Marian Gidea to Yeshiva University, New York; and Chris Orum to Oregon State University. Postdoc Jesse Berwald is now at the Institute for Mathematics and its Applications; Louis-Philippe Nadeau at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology's Program in Atmospheres, Oceans and Climate; Yi-Ping Ma at the University of Colorado at Boulder; and Raj Saha at the University of Minnesota.

The following members, who joined MCRN as graduate students, completed their doctorates in 2013: Sarah Iams (Cornell) is currently a postdoc at Northwestern, and Alyssa Pampell (SMU) is a postdoc at Texas A&M Galveston's Department of Maritime Systems Engineering. The following joined MCRN as undergraduates, then graduated in 2013: Emma Cutler (Bowdoin), Carolyn Mayer (Bowdoin), Zeno Muscarella (CalPoly), Chris Rackauckas (Oberlin), Kate Mayer (Smith) and Alexis Sparko (Smith). Most have continued their membership in MCRN as they progress in their careers. Emma Cutler is on a Fulbright in Sri Lanka; Chris Rackauckas is a grad student at UC Irvine; Alexis Sparko a grad student at UNC-Chapel Hill; Kate Mayer a grad student at Minnesota; and Carolyn Mayer a grad student at University of Nebraska, Lincoln.

Congratulations, MCRN! 2013 has been a great year!


Go to MCRN News Archive