M. Silber, M. Gidea, J. Sieber and S. Wieczorek organize Tipping Points Workshop for graduate and postdoctoral researchers

Announcement from MCRN node leader Mary Silber:

As part of Mathematics of Planet Earth 2013 (http://mpe2013.org) we are organizing a workshop on Tipping Points, 9-13 September 2013, at the International Centre for Mathematical Sciences (ICMS) in Edinburgh (UK) http://www.icms.org.uk/activities/mpe2013

The workshop is an opportunity for scientists, mathematicians and statisticians working on tipping points in ecology, climate and economics to meet for discussion and for an exchange of ideas, approaches, and scientific goals (see below for a list of confirmed participants).

Graduate students and postdocs wishing to attend should send an email to Sebastian Wieczorek (Exeter) (S.M.Wieczorek@exeter.ac.uk ). Any requests for partial financial support for attending the workshop should include a brief (half- to one-page) description of:

  • why you want to attend,
  • a list of publications,
  • if you would like to present a poster (with title).

We will inform interested applicants about the level of travel support as soon as possible.

The ICMS charges a registration fee of approx. 55 GPB.

Best wishes,



On behalf of the our workshop organizing committee

Marian Gidea (Mathematics Dept., Northeastern Illinois University)

Jan Sieber (Mathematics, University of Exeter

Mary Silber (Engineering Sciences and Applied Mathematics Dept., Northwestern University)

Sebastian Wieczorek (Mathematics, University of Exeter)


List of confirmed participants:

Science (Climate and Ecology):

  • P. Cox (University of Exeter, UK)
  • M. Crucifix (Universite Catholique de Louvain, Belgium)
  • H. Dijkstra (Utrecht University, Holland)
  • P. Ditlevsen (University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
  • A. Hastings (UC Davis, USA)
  • T. Lenton (University of Exeter, UK)
  • V. Lucarini (University of Hamburg, Germany)
  • P. Martin (Indiana University - Purdue University Indiannapolis, USA)
  • R. Pierrehumbert (University of Chicago, USA)
  • A. Provenzalle (CNR Torino, Italy)
  • M. Rietkerk (University of Utrecht, Holland)



  • P. Ashwin (University of Exeter, UK)
  • C. Budd (University of Bath, UK)
  • A. Doelman (University of Leiden, Holland)
  • B. Gentz (University of Bielefeld, Germany)
  • P. Glendinning (University of Manchester, UK)
  • C.K.R.T. Jones (University of North Carolina, USA)
  • B. Khouider (University of Victoria, Canada)
  • C. Kuehn (University of Vienna, Austria)
  • R. Kuske (University of British Columbia, Canada)
  • J. Lamb (Imperial College London, UK)
  • R. Mackay (Warwick University, UK)
  • J. Rademacher (CWI Amsterdam, Holland)
  • M. Rasmussen (Imperial College London, UK)
  • M. L. Zeeman (Bowdoin, USA)



  • C. Beaulieu (Princeton University, USA)
  • P. Challenor (University of Southampton, UK)
  • M. Goldstein (University of Durham, UK, )



  • C.G.H. Diks (University of Amsterdam, Holland)
  • D. Sornette (ETH,Zurich, Switzerland)


Go to MCRN News Archive