About Us

MCRN: A Network Linking Researchers across the Globe to Develop the Mathematics Needed to Better Understand Earth's Climate System

The consensus in the scientific community is that the Earth’s climate is changing. Understanding the changes, and the dynamics of Earth’s climate system in general, is one the most urgent challenges for science today.  Many of the issues arising in the study of our climate system have a significant mathematical dimension. The Mathematics and Climate Research Network (MCRN), a virtual organization of about 200 active researchers in mathematics and the geosciences in the US and beyond, aims to develop the mathematics of climate---a new area of applied mathematics that is tailored to the needs of climate research. 

Members of the MCRN are researchers at academic institutions, government laboratories and research centers, whose collective expertise cuts across the relevant areas of applied mathematics and climate science. They collaboratively lead a group of postdoctoral research fellows, graduate and undergraduate students, creating a cadre of strong mathematicians with the interdisciplinary expertise required to analyze problems that arise in the study of Earth’s climate system.

This web site is a resource for researchers, educators, and the public interested in the Mathematics of Climate. MCRN is funded by an award from the National Science Foundation's Division of Mathematical Sciences and is administered through the Renaissance Computing Institute (RENCI).

For more information about the Mathematics and Climate Research Network, watch the video below. Please email info@mathclimate.org with questions or interest.



MCRN Directors

Director Chris Jones, UNC Chapel Hill
Co-Directors Mary Lou Zeeman, Bowdoin College
Hans Kaper, Georgetown University
Program Manager Monica Romeo, RENCI, UNC Chapel Hill
Hubministrators Karna Gowda, Northwestern University
Colin Grudzien, UNC Chapel Hill
Jon Hahn, University of Minnesota
Kate Meyer, University of Minnesota
Lewis Mitchell, University of Adelaide
Andy Reagan, University of Vermont


Founding Principal Investigators

Charles David Camp California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo, Department of Mathematics
Chris Danforth University of Vermont, Department of Mathematics
Chris Jones UNC Chapel Hill, Department of Mathematics
Inez Fung University of California, Berkeley, Department of Earth and Planetary Science
Ken Golden University of Utah, Department of Mathematics
David Holland New York University, Departments of Mathematics and Geosciences
Eric Kostelich Arizona State University, School of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences
Alex Mahalov Arizona State University, School of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences
Pamela Martin Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis, Department of Earth Sciences
Richard McGehee University of Minnesota, Department of Mathematics
Raymond Pierrehumbert University of Chicago, Department of the Geophysical Sciences (currently, University of Oxford, Department of Physics)
Mary Silber Northwestern University, Department of Applied Mathematics
Ka-Kit Tung University of Washington, Department of Applied Mathematics
Mary Lou Zeeman Bowdoin College, Department of Mathematics


Scientific Advisory Board

  • Chris Budd, Professor of Applied Mathematics, University of Bath, UK
  • Henk Dijkstra, Professor of Dynamical Oceanography, University of Utrecht, Holland
  • David Eisenbud, Professor of Mathematics, University of California at Berkeley
  • Kerry Emanuel, Professor of Atmospheric Science, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Eugenia Kalnay, Distinguished University Professor of Atmospheric and Oceanic Science, University of Maryland at College Park
  • Mythily Ramasawamy, Dean of the Tata Institute for Fundamental Research Centre for Applicable Mathematics, Bangalore, India
  • Emily Shuckburgh, Head of open Oceans, British Antarctic Survey, Cambridge, UK
  • Claudia Tebaldi, Senior Scientist of Climate Statistics, Climate Central, Princeton, NJ
  • Philippe Tondeur, Professor Emeritus of Mathematics, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Patricia Yager, Associate Professor of Marine Sciences, University of Georgia